Morning Workout Musings

This morning, I was up at my now-standard time of 4:45am and promptly enjoyed a big mug of black-mango tea with milk. After some tooling around on the internet (including a fantastic Facebook-based discussion about the script adaptation of the Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter books) I prepared for my morning workout.

Since the soon-to-be-hubby is basically living in his mancave at the moment, I am free to listen to dubstep and do my workout without interruption… not that he interrupts me; usually it’s the other way around.

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot about CrossFit and while it’s a little out of my price range to pay for a gym membership when I already work at a fitness center, I really like the concept of getting cardio while strength training. I think this is a power lifting concept since body builders and hard core lifters seem to do very little if any cardio (like motoring along on the elliptical for 45 minutes).

I had a brief discussion with a stylist at my salon who is RIPPED. “I lift big-weights, and do minimal what most people consider cardio. I also eat a specific diet,” she says. Hm.

Anyway, as for CrossFit, there are some people who are REALLY into it and others who think it’s just the worst thing for  your body. From a therapeutic standpoint I can see why doing hundreds of reps of any exercise can have negative effects on the body; namely extreme fatigue can cause bad form and can lead to injury.

So, on to what I did this morning:

Thanks to katrina-runs.com for providing this workout with the lovely curly-cue writing.

First, I made it through just under 4 rounds in 20 minutes.

Second, the worst part of this exercise was the push-ups which I did with my knees down (hey, that’s where I’m at) and had to take loads of pauses to ensure that I was maintaining proper form. I was also feeling the tricep work I did yesterday… oy.

Second B, I could totally feel the push ups creeping into my upper traps and neck… this is the fatigue leading to bad form thing I mentioned earlier.

Third, definite cardio! Elevated heart rate, the whole shebang.

Fourth, I’m sad to say that this kind of kicked my ass. I ran a marathon once and now this 20 minute thing kicks my ass. More on topic with senior fitness: I’m aging too.

I am recovering from a back injury caused by biomechanical deficiencies and imbalances in my hips and knees. With a focus on building core strength and endurance, I finally have more pain-free days than pain-full days. I’m not interested in undoing any of the therapeutic work I’ve done nor am I interested in creating new injuries. So I employ my yoga training to 1) breathe and 2) listen to my body, hence the copious pauses during the push up part of this WOD.

Does anyone out there have any thoughts about CrossFit, WODs, or bodyweight work? I’d love to hear them!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Core Challenge Week 4 « AgeFit

    Leave a Reply

